10T Records

dots10T News


HELIOPOLIS Release “City of the Sun” on 10T Records

Tuesday, August 26th, 2014 by 10TRecords2 Featured Image

10T Records will release “City of the Sun,” the debut studio release by HELIOPOLIS, on September 2, 2014, with a retail street date of September 16, 2014.

Formed in Los Angeles in the summer of 2012, Heliopolis set out determined to celebrate the uplifting power of music. They began writing their debut album, “City of the Sun,” while simultaneously undertaking a string of acclaimed live performances where the band proved their viability and commitment to excellence onstage, wowing audiences with their energy, intensity, musicianship and songwriting.

Comprised of former members of acclaimed progressive rock acts Mars Hollow, Rocket Scientists, Ten Jinn, and Genesis tribute Gabble Ratchet, Heliopolis features veteran musicians Jerry Beller (drums and vocals), Matt Brown (keyboards and vocals), Kerry Chicoine (bass and vocals), Mike Matier (guitars), and Scott Jones (vocals). Together they form a forward-thinking musical collective on a mission to deliver the very best in contemporary progressive rock music paired with an ultimately optimistic message.

“These days there seems to be a disproportionate emphasis on darkness,” says bassist Kerry Chicoine. “We find exploring the balance between despair and optimism a more challenging and creatively satisfying approach.”

Heliopolis compose intricately detailed long-form songs based on memorable melodies, 4-part vocal harmonies, outstanding musicianship and thought-provoking lyrical subject matter, delivered by five musician friends who share a commitment to passion, sincerity, and integrity.

“At the end of the day, we believe in the greater good,” says lead vocalist Scott Jones. “And our focus is on creating musical landscapes reflective of our shared outlook.”

“We enjoy mixing our influences, putting ideas in a blender and, hopefully, surprising ourselves with the results,” says keyboardist Matt Brown.

“There are no limitations,” continues guitarist Mike Matier.

“We are very happy to be in partnership with 10T Records,” says drummer Jerry Beller. “Together we’re committed to bringing the discerning music fan the very best in contemporary progressive rock.”

“Working with Kerry and the rest of the band has been like a family reunion of sorts,” says 10T Records president, Steve Carroll. “I was excited to hear this new venture based on the pedigree of the members, but never expected to be so completely blown away. This is top drawer stuff on every possible level!”

“City of the Sun” by Heliopolis is now available to preview in its entirety exclusively on the Heliopolis artist page.

Downloads are available for immediate delivery. All orders for physical CDs placed between now and September 2nd will ship on or before that date in advance of the official mainstream release. After September 16th, “City of the Sun” will be available through your favorite retail outlet.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

One Response to “HELIOPOLIS Release “City of the Sun” on 10T Records”

  1. Hallei Montalbano Says:

    Hey Jerry…. Wow!!! Can’t wait to see you next month. You guys are amazing… You rock!! Great seeing you a couple weeks ago. Keep up the awesome work “cuz”.

    August 26th, 2014 at 5:18 pm